Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

The ever-exciting Indian Premier League (IPL) will feature eight IPL teams yet again playing a double round-robin stage in 56 league games to qualify for the Playoffs and then have a shot at winning the trophy. To do that, a team must first find itself in the top four of the IPL points table 2021.

Delhi Capitals
Chennai Super Kings
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Kolkata Knight Riders
Mumbai Indians
Punjab Kings

Rajasthan Royals
Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2021 Points Table Rules

Every team out of the eight teams aims to end up in the top-four slot. Which is a necessary condition if they want to proceed for the Playoffs. There is an additional incentive for the teams finishing in the top-two slot as they get two opportunities to make their place directly into the finals.

The standings of every member of the competition are chosen depending on the number of points each team has. In an event of a tie, the Net Run Rate is utilized as a sudden consideration. The Net Run Rate is determined by ‘the number of runs scored by the team to the number of overs faced’ to ‘the number of runs conceded by the team to the number of overs bowled in the same tournament.

A group is granted 2 points for success and 0 for a loss, and the points are shared equally in situations. Where the game is either abandoned or ends abruptly with no results.

IPL Standing Trivia

No group has advanced at any point ever to Playoffs with under 12 points throughout the entire existence of IPL.

Delhi Daredevils (presently Delhi Capitals) and Deccan Chargers (presently defunct) are the main 2 groups to have gathered 4 points in an IPL Season which is the bottommost points collected by any group.

Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers (presently defunct) are the main groups. Which have never completed first in the Indian Premier League Points table yet have proceeded to win the competition.

Delhi Daredevils (presently Delhi Capitals) is the only group in IPL history to complete first in the points table. However, they always lose the title. They have done it twice.

%d bloggers like this: